It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas in Beirut

But before I tell you about that, let me take a step back and tell you about Thanksgiving first. (I’m a little behind in the blogging department.)

Unlike last year, I only celebrated Thanksgiving once this year. (Without my partner in crime Kim to help out on the Thanksgiving preparations, I didn’t have the energy to cook my own Thanksgiving meal at my apartment). Instead I focused all of my energy on getting the stuffing right. When I found Italian sausage at one of the fancy grocery stores (even though it was $40 for 12 links!!) I knew it was on. I hunted down some celery ($6 per bunch) and the rest of the ingredients on several different shopping trips. It may have ended up being the most expensive side dish ever but it did not disappoint. I think I have some new converts to the stuffing recipe, too.

This year Thanksgiving was celebrated at our school president’s house on campus and it was quite the fancy affair. While it was still a potluck, there was a chef to cook the turkey and a team of people to serve and clean up. We ended the night with a White Elephant gift exchange.

expat family

[ 329 ] Thanksgiving came with a chef this year

The day after Thanksgiving I was in the Christmas spirit and so instead of going “Black Friday” shopping like so many Americans, I headed downtown with my friend Samantha to see the Christmas lights. I love the festive atmosphere downtown. Makes me excited to get home and see my family for the holidays.

20111126-IMG_6091

IMG_6080

IMG_6078

IMG_6089

IMG_6086

IMG_6081

2 Comments on “It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas in Beirut

Leave a Reply

