Hospital Stay in Bangkok

November of last year brought a first for me, not only in Bangkok but in life. At a six-month follow up from last year’s annual medical check (mandated for my work visa), I got the news that I was going to need surgery. I had completely forgotten about the appointment until I got an email reminder the day before. I almost rescheduled since I was caught off guard and needed to prepare a sub plan last minute, but I figured it would also be a hassle to reschedule the appointment.

The news that I needed surgery was surprising to me, though it shouldn’t have been. My doctor in Budapest had told me a few times that I had fibroids on my uterus that were growing and may need to be removed, but I had forgotten about that (even though I wrote it down in a little notebook I have to remember important stuff like this). I was also surprised to hear that I would need to stay in the hospital for three days following the surgery and then another seven days at home. The doctor was ready to do the surgery the very next week but then said that I may want some time to “prepare.” (Prepare how? Mentally prepare, he said.)

We looked at the calendar and considering that it was getting close to the December break and his recommendation to not travel right after, we settled on the last week of November for the surgery. This happened to coincide with our school “Action Week” where we take the students off campus for a week of camping an other outdoorsy activities. I did feel guilty for having to miss the trip, but in the end, it worked out to be the perfect timing because I didn’t have to prepare any sub plans, my students didn’t miss any lessons, and there were no work emails I needed to worry about while I was recovering.

Everyone always says that Bangkok has great healthcare, but now I got to really experience it for the first time. Also, the private hospital that is covered with our insurance is really nice. I had a huge private room all to myself, and it almost felt like a hotel room rather than a hospital room.

My friends in Bangkok were also amazing. My friend Carly insisted on taking the day off of work to come with me. I wouldn’t have thought I needed that, but it was so comforting to have her there every step of the way, especially when I came back to my room for the first time after the surgery. It was around midnight and she was sleeping on the couch in my room waiting for me. Also, she and several other colleagues visited me during the three days I was at the hospital to keep me company and bring me food and magazines, or send me treats. Another friend insisted on coming to take me home from the hospital. It was really nice to feel so much support from my friends when I was far from family and having my first surgery.

And, just to not leave this post with any kind of cliff hanger, everything was perfect at the follow up appointments after the surgery.

Now that I am familiar with the hospital and feel so comfortable there, I’ve been making appointments for any little thing that ails me. lol. Gotta make good use of this insurance and healthcare while I can.

One Comment on “Hospital Stay in Bangkok

Leave a comment