My First Lebanese Wedding

I was so thrilled to be invited to my first wedding in Lebanon. I had heard all about the drama and spectacle of Lebanese weddings and this one did not disappoint. The wedding was held at the Rivera Hotel which was fortunate for me since it’s right near my apartment. We ate a lot of food and then danced the night away. (My friend even commented that I knew how to do Arabic dancing. Haha.) I missed the big fake cake being rolled out with sparklers but I did get a piece of the small cake that was on our table. It wasn’t that great. (I thought one of the benefits of a small cake was that the frosting didn’t have to be so “strong.” I had to really cut through the frosting with a fork. Yuck.)

I leave you with some photos from the evening. (Lighting was REALLY tricky in there. Thank god for Lightroom!)

lebanese mezze

zaffeh

bride and groom's entrance

taking their places

dramatic

the bride and groom

dancing

2 Comments on “My First Lebanese Wedding

  1. that looks amazing! that food all looks right up my alley, and the happy couple is beautiful. i had to look ALL over this island for a “real” cake. here, they always do fake ones too, but i was determined to have a real one. after about a dozen bakers told me that it “cannot be done,” i finally found one. and it was yummy.

  2. Fantastic shots! What did you think of it all? A bit overdone? That’s what I thought after my first Lebanese wedding..I felt like I was at the Oscars!

Leave a Reply

