At Home in Budapest

I’ve been trying to balance my weekends between nesting at home in my apartment and getting out to explore my new city. I think I was fairly successful this weekend.

Here are a couple of snaps around town from the last two days. (Not a proper photo walk, but it’s something!)

Next weekend is the big wine festival, but this weekend was the Young Winemakers Association Festival. The weather was beautiful and the setting was just perfect in the plaza of the Basilica with lanterns strewn overhead.

Next weekend is the big wine festival, but this weekend was the Young Winemakers’ Association Festival. The weather was beautiful and the setting was just perfect in the plaza of the Basilica with lanterns strewn overhead.

Long morning drinking coffee at home and catching up on my blog reader made better only by my Chemex which hasn't seen the light of day in several months.

Long morning drinking coffee at home and catching up on my blog reader, made better only by my Chemex which hasn’t seen the light of day in several months.

Bar by night, farmers market by (Sun)day. A colleague of mine directed me to this fun little spot and it was well worth the excursion on a Sunday morning.

Bar by night, farmers market by (Sun)day. A colleague of mine directed me to this fun little spot and it was well worth the excursion on a Sunday morning.

Tacos in Budapest.

Tacos in Budapest

Seen in the Jewish Quarter. Unfortunately, Google translate is a mess when it comes to Hungarian and I couldn't make out what all the phrases on this mural were.

Seen in the Jewish Quarter. Unfortunately, Google translate is a mess when it comes to Hungarian and I couldn’t make out what all the phrases on this mural were.

A friend recommended that I try some gelato from Café Gerbaud, so when I spotted it on my walk Saturday I had to try it. I got a scoop of coffee and a scoop of cinnamon.

A friend recommended that I try some gelato from Café Gerbaud, so when I spotted it on my walk Saturday I had to try it. I got a scoop of coffee and a scoop of cinnamon.

Happy weekend!

3 Comments on “At Home in Budapest

  1. Tacos always, everywhere! Let us know if you try it…
    Hungarian is a tricky language, and it’s actually very closely related to Finnish, I believe, which I find fascinating.
    Budapest was not this cool when I went there! Lucky you!

  2. Pingback: The Beauty of the Second Year | The Present Perfect

Leave a Reply

