Cambie Dress

I finished my Cambie a few weeks ago and I’ve been waiting for some warm weather to give it a test run. This week the rain finally let up so I was able to wear it to work.

This is probably the first thing that I have made that I really don’t have any complaints about. I truly love everything about it. (On the first wear it was feeling a bit big, but I’ve since washed it and it shrunk up perfectly. Phew!)

I was determined to make this dress look as good on the inside as it does on the outside. It took a little longer to finish but it was totally worth it.

Here’s a look at the inside . . .

inside view

pocket, side seam, and hem details

Here’s a look at the invisible zipper in back. The waist band isn’t quite perfect but somehow it doesn’t bother me.

invisible zipper and (slightly imperfect) waistband

The bit of gape in the neck line and extra room at the waist is all gone now that I’ve washed it.

Cambie

I love this dress.

Cambie dress

If you live in Beirut and you want to make this dress (or any other for that matter), check out The Old Fashioned Way sewing workshops and Layla will get you sorted.

I leave you with a shot I took for my 52 of You self-portrait project.

big world, tiny me

3 Comments on “Cambie Dress

  1. I always read these posts and end up thinking ‘Damn, she’s so well rounded…making her own dresses!’ Lovely as always!

Leave a Reply

