good food, good friends

I’ve never been much of a late night, party gal. Sure over the years I’ve had my fair share of late nights out, but more and more I’m quite content staying in, enjoying my comfortable apartment, and cooking a good meal. Even better if good friends are involved. And wine.

So my perfect evening? Having some of my closest friends in Beirut over for a dinner party with a meal planned almost entirely from Ottolenghi’s Plenty.

good friends, good fooddinner party table

As if there needed to be an excuse for a dinner party, this one happened to have one. It is Jimmy and Madeleine’s last week in Lebanon before they make their big move to Seattle.

On the menu . . .

Roasted Eggplant with buttermilk sauce and pomegranate seeds
ottolenghi love

“Suprise Tatin” with potatoes, carmelized onions, cherry tomatoes, and aged goat cheese
suprise tatin

Sausage and Mushroom Polenta with Gruyere
(Sadly not pictured. Also from Plenty, but the sausage was my own addition.)

Roasted Date Salad from the blog Spoon Fork Bacon

And for dessert a chocolate bread pudding with Frangelico (ice cream on the side).

Espresso + Frangelico and chocolate bread pudding for dessert.

The evening was filled with laughs and memories of the adventures of the last year with M+J. There were even a few attempts at a group jump shot resulting in this (which Jimmy claims was successful since his feet made it off the ground):
successful jump shot?

Though Jimmy and Madeleine are the first to leave (this Wednesday!), sadly we’re all parting ways in a few short months. Jodi’s off to a new school in Buenos Aires, Wissam will stay behind in Lebanon, and even I’m off to the Chicago area. Parting is hard, but it’s the nature of life as an expat. Hopefully we’ll all meet up again stateside or in Argentina, perhaps.

post dinner party fun
Love these peeps!

4 Comments on “good food, good friends

  1. I have really enjoyed reading your blog and looking at your amazing pictures. My husband and I are moving to Beirut in August, and are looking for all the insight I can get. Would love to chat with you if possible.

Leave a Reply

