Sew U Babydoll Dress

Sew U babydoll

I’ve been busy all of January and February sewing twice, and even sometimes three times, a week! What I haven’t been busy doing is taking pictures of everything that I’ve made. I’m starting to get a backlog of finished objects and I really wanted to document everything, so I wore this red dress today so I could photograph it. Luckily the weather was just perfect for both the dress and taking photos.

Sew U babydoll

I finished this dress from the book Sew U Home Stretch just after Valentine’s Day (great timing, right?) and this is my second time wearing it. I got so many compliments on it at work (and that was even before people knew I made it), probably because the red color is just so bold.

Sew U babydoll

I really love the dress; it’s comfortable and easy to wear. I especially like how professional looking the stitching with the twin needle came out. The only thing that I don’t like is how the big scoop neck gapes a little (sometimes in the front and sometimes in the back). Layla (my sewing teacher) warned me that it might happen with the method used to sew the neck in but I really wanted to try it because I liked the look.

Sew U babydoll

I think I could try again and get it right the second time, but for now I don’t think it’s a huge deal. (At least I’m trying not to think about it too much. I might be a bit too much of a perfectionist to sew my own clothing!)

I modified the pattern by adding pockets and cutting the neckline a bit higher because it was a bit too low to be work appropriate.

Sew U babydoll

15 Comments on “Sew U Babydoll Dress

  1. Dresses with pockets are my favorite! The detail of the pocket is very cute!

  2. Well dear Lindsay, I think we are neighbors!!! I’m the rooftop on your left side (when you’re with you’re back to the school), and next to the school. The balcony with the lights (sometimes). I looked at your lovely red dress, and recognized the balcony!!! That’s so cool!

    • Yes! I know exactly where you live! My friend Kari who used to work with you pointed out your apartment once 🙂

  3. Kari was my daughter’s teacher! She’s awesome.

  4. This is a lovely dress and this post was really helpful as I am planning to make this dress as my next project – thanks!

Leave a Reply

