Back to School

Tomorrow is the first day back to school for students which makes tonight the first official school night. Eek! Waking up early tomorrow is going to be hard. (We teachers have been back to work for over a week now, but we haven’t had to be to work earlier than 8:30 or 9:00 in the morning).

While summer may officially be over for the students (and teachers) of Lebanon, fall is not quite in the air. The temperatures are still in the eighties and at least one teacher I know is planning on hitting the beach after school for a last hurrah. There’s something not quite right about starting the school year without as much as a hint of cool fall air or leaves changing colors on the trees. (But then again, maybe those are my East Coast years talking.)

In any case, I’m ready to go back tomorrow. I’m excited to meet my students, some of which I’ll be teaching for the second year in a row, and some which are new. I love the promise of a new school year where anything is possible and there’s the opportunity to have an even better year than the previous one. (And I’m forever grateful for summer vacations that allow me to relax, rejuvenate, and refresh so that I can have a positive outlook like this at the beginning of each school year!)

Leave a Reply

