Day One in Southeast Asia

My first taste of Asian street food and it was so good!

It’s been a while since I’ve been somewhere completely and totally new for me.  I’m having similar feelings to three years ago when I stepped on land in the Middle East for the first time and kept picturing myself on the map thinking, I’m THERE! Only this time, with Bangkok being the well-worn backpackers trail that it is, I keep seeing myself in the photos of other travelers’ trips come to life. Look, a real tuk tuk! Oh, it’s a Buddha statue. Another shiny temple!

My first impressions of Bangkok are that it’s not nearly as dirty, chaotic, and seedy as I had imagined it would be. But then again, I’ve only been here 12 hours and haven’t had time to see much. Still, I’m impressed and I want to learn more about this city and discover its hidden secrets. I think I could spend some time here.

relaxing corner of bangkok

shared streets in action in bangkok

tourists and locals

passing by

4 Comments on “Day One in Southeast Asia

  1. You’re in my favorite part of the world! Or, the part I know best (aside from here, of course). It’s going to be so fun to watch you in this area of the world. Eat up!

Leave a Reply

