Goodbye for Now Beirut

I’m in NYC for two months for the summer holidays. I’ve only been here a day and a half now but it feels like Utopia. Really. The first things that struck me were wide sidewalks that are actually used for walking (not parking or driving), trash being thrown in actual trash bins (or even *recycling* bins!) and public transportation. I think this is some form of reverse culture shock where everything seems perfect and wonderful (though I don’t think that’s really how “reverse culture shock” usually works). Certainly living in NYC has its share of challenges but for now it couldn’t seem more perfect. All I can think about right now are the contrasts between NYC and Beirut. Eventually I’m sure I’ll remember all of the more challenging aspects of big city living, but for the time being I’m going to enjoy all that I’ve been missing. Not least of which is a city that is blissfully smoke-free.

NYC1-8

One Comment on “Goodbye for Now Beirut

  1. Trust me, I know exactly how you feel! I felt the same thing when I arrived in Miami a month ago..I’m back in Trinidad now, and even this small Caribbean island feels more developed than Lebanon! Mannn..I miss Lebanon (the people mainly) but it really needs to get its ISH together! Have a great holiday Lindsay!

Leave a Reply

