May: A Month of Accomplishments

May turned out to be a month of big accomplishments for me.

First, I ran my first half marathon (which I started training for back in February) in the desert of Wadi Rum, Jordan. Originally I had planned to run in a half marathon in Saida but a few weeks into my training I realized that somehow the event no longer existed (they cancelled it I guess?) A friend told me about this Full Moon Half Marathon in Jordan and I thought it sounded really cool: a night time run, under a full moon, with torches to light the way. I got really excited to go and even found a friend to travel to Jordan and run it with me. Then a week or so before the race it occurred to me that desert=sand and started getting really nervous about having to run 13.1 miles in sand but still hoped for the best (read: that there would be a road running through the desert). Well, there was no road but I did manage to finish the race in two and a half hours so I felt really good about that.

[ 133 ] my first half marathon!

Wadi Rum Half-3

Then, a week later I ran my first triathlon. I had never even considered doing a triathlon but some of my friends were going to do itΒ so I thought, why not? I figured I’ve been running a lot so I’ve got that covered (especially since I’d only have to run 5K), I swim at the gym pool for an hour at a time so that should be a breeze, and I’ve been on some killer bike rides in Lebanon with my friend George so I’m sure I could handle the biking. So, I signed up for the triathlon without any proper training for it. The triathlon was a 750 meter swim in the Mediterranean, a 20K bike ride though banana plantations, and a 5K run through the Roman ruins and old city of Tyr. The hardest part turned out to be the swimming which surprised me. I’m a pretty good swimmer but I hadn’t accounted for how nauseous the waves and the salt water would make me. Over all though it was a great experience and I can’t wait to do another one.

Tyr Tri-5

Tyr Tri-11

Finally, as if a half marathon and a triathlon weren’t enough, I decided to finish the month by completing a goal of running 75 miles for the month. After all my training I was just 33 miles short of the badge on Smashrun so I decided to push myself to make it to 75 even though I could have taken a week off after the triathlon.

All in all it was a pretty eventful month and I accomplished a lot of goals that I didn’t even know I had. As for my next goal? I’m planning on running another half marathon at the end of July with a much better time that 2.5 hours.

4 Comments on “May: A Month of Accomplishments

  1. Bravo!!!! It’s incredible the things we can accomplish when we put our heart into them. Keep running and keep going after your goals πŸ™‚

  2. Wow Lindsay! And what’s even more incredible about your accomplishments (at least in my eyes) is that you did all of this in the Middle East! Your family and friends must be so proud of you! Your an inspiration to us all girl! πŸ˜€

  3. Pingback: The Old Women and The Sea.. | This is Beirut

Leave a Reply

