Road Trip to the Cedars

Last summer when I was in Lebanon I traveled all over the country but I somehow never managed to make it to see the famed Cedars. So last week when I was out having drinks with friends and a friend of a friend of a friend said he was taking a little road trip up to the Cedars on Sunday and generously invited me to go along (as the Lebanese always seem to do) I jumped at the chance.

Carlos (my new Lebanese friend) kept the whole trip leading up to the Cedars a secret so each stop along the way an exciting little surprise. First up was the village of Rashana where we saw lots of interesting sculptures by the Basbous brothers and we even met Anashar who is the son of one of the brothers and also a sculptor himself.

sculpture garden

artist

Next up on our trip was a stop in Batroun. We got some lemonade and then visited the church of St. Stephen. Sadly the souk was closed so I’ll have to return another day to see that.

st. stephen

batroun souk

After that we headed up to the Monastery of St. Anthony in the breathtaking Qadisha Valley.

monastery of st. anthony

:: Day 213 • Year 3 :: looking out at the valley

We made a stop for lunch in Ehden and saw the church there.

ehden church

lebanese staples

Finally we made it up to the Cedars. Now I’m not a nature-y tree hugging kind of girl but I have to say that I was moved seeing the thousands-of-years-old trees. And not just because they are a symbol of Lebanon. Somehow I felt more complete just seeing them. I can’t wait to go back in the winter and see what they look like covered in snow!

looking up at the cedars

Not a bad little trip for my first weekend in Lebanon!

4 Comments on “Road Trip to the Cedars

  1. Whoa looks like it was a great trip!

    Did you notice Anashar is named after Rashana (spelled backwards)?

    • My friend who took me there told me that! I was proud of myself for realizing that the sh probably stayed in the same position though because it would be the sheen in Arabic 🙂

  2. Pingback: Hamra Street Festival, Day 2 | The Present Perfect

Leave a Reply

