My Second Finished Sweater + Some Fall Goodness

20130928-IMG_4378-untitled

Well, it’s officially fall around these parts (the Midwest, that is). The air is crisp, the leaves are changing color, and every type of food or beverage you can imagine comes in pumpkin flavor. Certainly a change from what I was used to in Beirut where the weather it still hitting the 80s and Libby’s 100% Pure Pumpkin puree is a rare find in the specialty grocery store. Though I can’t complain as I’ve definitely been taking advantage of the abundance of pumpkin here making pumpkin breakfast cookies, pumpkin spice syrup for lattes, and of course, pumpkin pie.

Another thing that fall is great for (besides eating your body weight in pumpkin) is breaking out the sweaters! And with perfect timing, I finished knitting my second sweater ever, the Rocky Coast Cardigan. I started this back in May and was on track to finish by the beginning of the summer, but the end of the school year + an impromptu trip to Italy + packing all of my stuff up to move half way around the world meant that it got put on the back burner for a while. Luckily I managed to finish it just in time for my bf to help me out with the photographs on our apple picking excursion. I’d say the sweater looks just about right for a day in the apple orchard.

Rocky Coast Cardigan
Rocky Coast Cardigan

I have to say I could have never knit this sweater without the help of my fabulous neighbor in Beirut (and knitting expert), Silvana. She helped me with everything from figuring out the right materials and sizing, to teaching me to read the pattern and how to fix my mistakes. I’m sure she must have gotten sick of me knocking on her door every other day asking for help with one thing or another! Fortunately, I learned so much about knitting on this project that I have since been able to start a new sweater (now half way finished!) all on my own.

In the end, I am super proud of my work on this sweater but I have to admit I don’t actually love wearing it. The shoulders tend to slip off (which I had read some other knitters on Ravelry also mentioning) and the front kind of bunches by the arms if it’s not laid out smoothly (which is of course impossible while wearing it around). So while this won’t become my go-to sweater, I am really glad that I made it and learned so much. And I can’t wait to share my third sweater with you all just as soon as it’s finished!

And now, on to the promised fall goodness! It’s apples and pumpkins galore!

two in the hand apples! perfect for picking getting the perfect pumpkin blurry us at the pumpkin patch

8 Comments on “My Second Finished Sweater + Some Fall Goodness

  1. That is gorgeous–you did an amazing job! Can’t wait to see the next one.

  2. Such a pretty sweater, Lindsay! I’ve admired that pattern for a long time but hadn’t heard about the fit issues. I’m like you – it bothers me when sweaters fall off the shoulders. Even though it won’t be your go-to sweater, I hope you still wear it because you did a great job on it!

  3. How exciting! It looks great, despite the fit issues. All those cables! (I think that’s the right terminology… lol) I just started knitting and am on my second project: a hat. (My first was also a hat, but I’m really hoping this one turns out better, lol). I hope one day to be able to knit sweaters, but I must admit it feels a long way off. How long had you been knitting before you started your sweater?

    • I’d basically known how to knit for quite a while but every project I tried was a disaster. Probably about a year before I started the sweater I learned to knit again and actually stuck with it. In that year I probably knit a few hats, one cowl, and one other sweater. The hardest part it learning to fix your mistakes. (Reading the pattern isn’t as hard because you can look videos up online!) For me making a sweater is much more enjoyable than a scarf because it has interest and I might actually want to wear it!

      Good luck with your knitting!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 180 other followers

